North Carolina Introduces Bill to Speed Titling Process for Out-of-State Older Vehicles

March 21st, 2013 by Motortopia

North Carolina Introduces Bill to Speed Titling Process for Out-of-State Older Vehicles

Legislation (S.B. 344) to provide for the prompt issuance of titles to owners of out-of-state motor vehicles that are 35-years old or older has been introduced in the North Carolina Senate.  Under the bill, if a required inspection and verification is not conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicles within 10 days after receiving a request and the inspector has no probable cause to believe that the ownership documents or public vehicle identification number does not match the vehicle being examined, the vehicle will be deemed to have satisfied all inspection and verification requirements and the title will be issued to the owner within 10 days.  If an inspection and verification is performed in a timely manner and the vehicle passes the inspection and verification, title shall issue to the owner within 10 days of the date of the inspection.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Commerce Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 344

  • Under current law, no title may be issued for out-of-state vehicles that are 35 years old or older or a specially constructed vehicle prior to the completion of a vehicle verification conducted by the License and Theft Bureau of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These verifications must be conducted as soon as practical.
  • The DMV continues to delay these inspections for weeks after a request is made, and more than a month in some cases, including in metropolitan areas.  Once the inspection is completed, vehicle owners are informed that it may take weeks before a title is mailed, which stalls the timely buying and selling of vintage automobiles.
  • S.B. 344 would provide vehicle owners a fair, reasonable and reliable time period in which they could have these older cars inspected and receive title from the DMV.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 344.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net; Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net; Harry.Brown@ncleg.net; Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net; Dan.Blue@ncleg.net; Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net; Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net; Ben.Clark@ncleg.net; David.Curtis@ncleg.net; Don.Davis@ncleg.net; Jim.Davis@ncleg.net; Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net; Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net; Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net; Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net; Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net; Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net; Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net; Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net; Buck.Newton@ncleg.net; Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net; Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net; Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net; Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net; Josh.Stein@ncleg.net; Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net; Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net; Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net; Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

Senator Rick Gunn (Co-Chair)

Phone: (919) 301-1446

Email: Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net

 

Senator Wesley Meredith (Co-Chair)

Phone: (919) 733-5776

Email: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net

 

Senator Tamara Barringer (Vice-Chair)

Phone: (919) 733-5653

Email: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net

 

Senator Harry Brown (Vice-Chair)

Phone: (919) 715-3034

Email: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net

 

Senator Tom Apodaca

Phone: (919) 733-5745

Email: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

 

Senator Dan Blue

Phone: (919) 733-5752

Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net

 

Senator Peter S. Brunstetter

Phone: (919) 733-7850

Email: Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net

 

Senator Angela R. Bryant

Phone: (919) 733-5878

Email: Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net

 

Senator Ben Clark

Phone: (919) 733-9349

Email: Ben.Clark@ncleg.net

 

Senator David L. Curtis

Phone: (919) 715-3038

Email: David.Curtis@ncleg.net

 

Senator Don Davis

Phone: (919) 715-8363

Email: Don.Davis@ncleg.net

 

Senator Jim Davis

Phone: (919) 733-5875

Email: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

 

Senator Thom Goolsby

Phone: (919) 715-2525

Email: Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net

 

Senator Malcolm Graham

Phone: (919) 733-5650

Email: Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net

 

Senator Kathy Harrington

Phone: (919) 733-5734

Email: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net

 

Senator Neal Hunt

Phone: (919) 733-5850

Email: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net

 

Senator Clark Jenkins

Phone: (919) 715-3040

Email: Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net

 

Senator Floyd B. McKissick, Jr.

Phone: (919) 733-4599

Email: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

 

Senator Gene McLaurin

Phone: (919) 733-5953

Email: Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net

 

Senator Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr.

Phone: (919) 715-3001

Email: Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net

 

Senator E. S. (Buck) Newton

Phone: (919) 715-3030

Email: Buck.Newton@ncleg.net

 

Senator Gladys A. Robinson

Phone: (919) 715-3042

Email: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net

 

Senator Bob Rucho

Phone: (919) 733-5655

Email: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

 

Senator Norman W. Sanderson

Phone: (919) 733-5706

Email: Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net

 

Senator Dan Soucek

Phone: (919) 733-5742

Email: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net

 

Senator Josh Stein

Phone: (919) 715-6400

Email: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net

 

Senator Jeff Tarte

Phone: (919) 715-3050

Email: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net

 

Senator Jerry W. Tillman

Phone: (919) 733-5870

Email: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net

 

Senator Tommy Tucker

Phone: (919) 733-7659

Email: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net

 

Senator Mike Woodard

Phone: (919) 733-4809

Email: Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

Advertisement

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.